Disciplined But Free

I am currently reading The Music Instinct: How Music Works and Why We Can’t Do Without It by Philip Ball, a book I picked up at probably one of the best bookstores ever, Blackwell’s, in Oxford.  I came across a quote near the beginning that I liked a lot by a philosopher named Roger Scruton (I’ve never heard of him, but now I’m interested!):

“Through melody, harmony, and rhythm, we enter a world where others exist besides the self, a world that is full of feeling but also ordered, disciplined but free.  That is why music is a character-forming force.”

(The Music Instinct, p. 15)

One thought on “Disciplined But Free

Leave a Reply

