Pianos of London

While I was wandering around and waiting to tour St. Paul’s Cathedral in London a little over a month ago, this guy sat down at one of the outdoor pianos placed around the city.  Each of the pianos is supplied with a small booklet of music chained to it.  But he didn’t need this.  From memory, he played a beautiful medley of several extremely difficult classical pieces, including a Schubert Impromptu and Rachmaninoff’s Prelude in C# minor (one of my favorites).  He was incredibly skilled, and it was just one of the many amazing moments I just happened upon while in England.

Later on, I came across another piano, and though I knew myself to be quite inferior to the performer above, I used the provided music and sightread a bit of Chopin and a couple of others.  Lots of fun!  Now I want a piano of my own for outdoor use…

Leave a Reply

