The Tolkien Professor

One of my college professors, Dr. Jonathan McIntosh, sent me a link yesterday to a website with lectures by the “Tolkien Professor”, Corey Olsen.  I’ve only listened to the first lecture so far, but I’m already a huge fan!  Olsen has obviously done his research and really knows what he’s talking about.  In his introductory lecture, he touched on one of my favorite branches of Tolkien studies, that of why Tolkien disliked allegory and why he wished for no reader to dissect his works in an allegorical way.  This was the topic of my college thesis a couple of years ago and remains an area of interest for me.  If you’re a Tolkien reader or simply curious, visit http://www.tolkienprofessor.com/ to hear some great lectures.

All the best,

Allie

PS – Read my analysis of Tolkien’s handwriting here.

2 thoughts on “The Tolkien Professor

  1. Heather says:

    Could you analyze Emily Dickinson’s handwriting? I’m writing my thesis on her and she’s such a difficult woman to pin down, I’m curious to see what her handwriting says about her.

Leave a Reply

