Enneagram Type 3: “The Achiever”

More Enneagram!!  Below is a ‘checklist’ of sorts to determine whether or not you could possibly be a Type Three – Achiever (also referred to in other sources as Performer, Motivator, Achiever, Producer, Status Seeker).  I am again quoting from The Enneagram Made Easy by Renee Baron and Elizabeth Wagele.

In general, Threes are “motivated by the need to be productive, achieve success, and avoid failure.”  They are described as “optimistic, confident, industrious, efficient, self-propelled, energetic, practical” at their best.  They can also be “deceptive, narcissistic, pretentious, vain, superficial, vindictive, overly competitive” at their worst.  Many are in between, I suppose. :-)

The most common Myers-Briggs types for Type 3 are ENTJ and ENFJ.  Other strong possibilities are ESTJ, ESFJ and INTJ.  Rare but possible are ISTJ, ISFJ, ESTP, ESFP, ISTP, ENTP and ENFP.

Consider these statements in regard to your own personality, especially as you would have related to them before age 25 or so.  Or if you’re not a Three, you may recognize someone you know in here!

1. I am almost always busy.

2. I like to make to-do lists, progress charts, and schedules for myself.

3. I don’t mind being asked to work overtime.

4. I have an optimistic attitude.

5. I go full force until I get the job done.

6. I believe in doing things as expediently as possible.

7. It is important for people to better themselves and live up to their potential.

8. I’m not interested in talking a lot about my personal life.

9. I try not to let illness stop me from doing anything.

10. I hate to see jobs undone.

11. I tend to put work before other things.

12. I can’t understand people who are bored.  I never run out of things to do.

13. It is sometimes difficult for me to get in touch with my feelings.

14. I work very hard to take care of and provide for my family.

15. I like identifying with competent groups or important people.

16. I try to present myself well and make a good first impression.

17. Financial security is extremely important to me.

18. I generally feel pretty good about myself.

19. People often look to me to run the show.

20. I like to stand out in some way.

Did you read this and think, “That’s me!”?  If so, I want to hear about it. :-)

PS – I’m editing the checklist articles for Types 1 and 2 so that they have the “at their best” and “at their worst” adjectives as well, plus most common Myers-Briggs types.  You can read about the Perfectionist HERE and the Helper HERE.

3 thoughts on “Enneagram Type 3: “The Achiever”

Leave a Reply

