Enneagram Type 4: “The Romantic”

Below is a ‘checklist’ of sorts to determine whether or not you could possibly be a Type Four in the Enneagram of 9 Personality Types.  Four is the Romantic (also referred to in other sources as the Individualist, Artist, Melodramatic, Mystic, Elitist). I am again quoting from The Enneagram Made Easy by Renee Baron and Elizabeth Wagele.

In general, Fours are “motivated by the need to experience their feelings and to be understood, to search for the meaning of life, and to avoid being ordinary.” They are described as “warm, compassionate, introspective, expressive, creative, intuitive, supportive, refined” at their best. They can also be “depressed, self-conscious, guilt-ridden, moralistic, withdrawn, stubborn, moody, self-absorbed” at their worst.

The most common Myers-Briggs types for Type 4 are INFJ and INFP. Other strong possibilities are ENFP and ISFP.  Slightly less common are ISFJ, ESFP and ENFJ.

Consider these statements in regard to your own personality, especially as you would have related to them before age 25 or so. Or if you’re not a Four, you may recognize someone you know in here!

1. Being understood is very important to me.

2. My friends say they enjoy my warmth and my different way of looking at life.

3. I can become nonfunctional for hours, days, or weeks when I’m depressed.

4. I am very sensitive to critical remarks and feel hurt at the tiniest slight.

5. It really affects me emotionally when I read upsetting stories in the newspaper.

6. My ideals are very important to me.

7. I cry easily.  Beauty, love, sorrow, and pain really touch me.

8. My melancholy moods are real and important.  I don’t necessarily want to get out of them.

9. I often long for what others have.

10. I try to support my friends, especially when they are in crisis.

11. I live in the past and in the future more than in present-day reality.

12. I place great importance on my intuition.

13. I try to control people at times.

14. I hate insincerity and lack of integrity in others.

15. I have spent years longing for the great love of my life to come along.

16. I focus on what is wrong with me rather than on what is right.

17. I like to be seen as one of a kind.

18. I am always searching for my true self.

19. Sometimes I feel very uncomfortable and different, like an isolated outsider, even when I’m with my friends.

20. When people tell me what to do, I often become rebellious and do, or wish I could do, the opposite.

Are you a Four?  Do you know a Four?  Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Enneagram Type 4: “The Romantic”

  1. dreamerrambling says:

    LOVED THIS LIST. I’m sorry, I hate people who use Caps Lock excessively but this list just validated so much my soul imploded and I lost control of my fingers typing on my keyboard for a bit. This. This is me to a T. This is me to the core. This explains so much. This is me, my essence, my being, my soul, my entire psyche. Gosh. Sorry if I come across as too emotional. It comes with the territory. I’m literally crying now because this list is so true and because I am an Enneagram 4 I have felt so alone and out of place for so long. I’ll stop now.

Leave a Reply

